top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaitlyn Yu

A Link in the Chain

This past week in Independent Study and Mentorship began with me reaching out to multiple dermatologists living in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex to expand my professional network and prepare for research interviews. While engaging in this process, I am excited to begin networking with professionals in the field of dermatology, and as I begin to learn more about the field overall from different perspectives.

This week I also discovered how the way a dermatologist encourages patients to stick to their care plan can help to increase recovery. I made these discoveries while reading a research paper on the connection between digital apps and increased adherence to Atopic Dermatitis care plans, where they explored prominent details and themes surrounding the patient's objective and subjective symptoms. During which, they found that the implementation of digital devices, in the form of an app and clicker, assisted in stimulating patient involvement in their care plans. The article gave me insight into the ideas behind the implications of why non-adherence trends occur and tests that can be used to measure the extent of dermatological disorders. The findings in this study, definitely motivated me to continue to look into deeper connections regarding the impact of technology on dermatological care as I continue my research.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page